Arapahoe County Real Estate Information

The third most populated of the 64 counties in the state, Arapahoe County, Colorado, is located in the north-central region of the state, near Denver, the state capital. The population of the county was nearly 550,000 as of estimates in 2008, a more than 10 percent increase in population since the 2000 census. The seat of the county is Littleton, and its biggest city by population is Aurora, home to nearly 300,000 in its own. Arapahoe County is a part of the Denver-Aurora Metropolitan Statistical Area and the Denver-Aurora-Boulder Combined Statistical Area for population estimates.

The county is named after the Arapaho Nation tribe of Native Americans that populated the region before European settlers moved in. The county claims to be the first county established in the state, with its origination predating the gold rush, which in 1858 attracted a number of new settlers to the area after gold was found along the South Platte River. In 1901 the original county was split into three parts by the state's assembly: one as the combined city-county of Denver, one as Adams county, and the remainder became Arapahoe County.

The western part of the county is more urban with residential, retail and industrial areas, while the eastern portion is much more rural. Cities and towns within the county include Aurora, Bennett, Bow Mar, Cherry Hills Village, Columbine Valley, Deer Trail, Englewood, Foxfield, Glendale, Greenwood Village, Littleton and Sheridan, and the county is governed by the Board of County Commissioners. The area of Arapahoe County spans 806 square miles, with Cherry Creek State Park, two historic trails and two recreational trails. Each year, the county fair is held in Aurora. The county has 1,900 employees and a $369.2 million budget. There are nine school districts operating throughout the county, and the area's history can be extracted at the Aurora Museum and Littleton Museum.